classic car forum header
Classic cars forum & vehicle restoration.
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 
Register     Posting Photographs     Privacy     F/book OCC Facebook     OCC on Patreon

Cylinder head removal
Goto page 1, 2  Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Classic cars forum & vehicle restoration. Forum Index -> Mechanical Restoration
wristpin

PostPosted: Wed May 15, 2013 3:28 pm    Post subject: Cylinder head removal Reply with quote

New to the forum, spent a life time with things mechanical and oily, the last 30 years owning and running a garden machinery business. Now retired with a 1969 Lambretta and a shed (or two!) full of ancient lawnmowers and cultivators etc awaiting attention.
However this question relates to someone else's problem - a cylinder head that refuses to budge.
Way back when I started learning about engines I worked with a time served guy who taught me the basics of engines and good workshop practice (suppose that these days he would be called a "mentor") It was not uncommon then for cylinder heads to be pigs to remove - the anti -freeze of the day would creep up around the studs and everything would be corroded solid. However this guy had a set of tubular cutters - very thin sleeves with fine teeth on the end - that could be slipped over the stud and turned with a hand brace until they worked their way down to gasket level removing all the crud as they went.
I had never come across such things before seeing his and have never seen any since. I suppose that it's possible that they were home made - may be an apprentice exercise, but I remember them being in a nice wooden case and graded for different sized studs. I would be interested to know if anyone else has recollections of such a tool or even has a set?! Sadly my mentor is no longer with us to ask.
Angus
Ashley