classic car forum header
Classic cars forum & vehicle restoration.
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 
Register     Posting Photographs     Privacy     F/book OCC Facebook     OCC on Patreon

Lucas Ignition Coils
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Classic cars forum & vehicle restoration. Forum Index -> Electrical Restoration
Ashley

PostPosted: Sat Nov 02, 2013 3:27 pm    Post subject: Lucas Ignition Coils Reply with quote

Over the last few years I have had numerous coil failures, I've been driving since 1963 and never lost one until recently and it's driving me nuts.

They've all been Lucas, some have leaked oil and overheated, some turned out to be ballast resistor type with the wrong part number, so overheated and failed and the last one wouldn't pull from low revs and misfired when it was hot. I'd fitted it as a precaution in case the old Lucas on the car was dodgy. I put it back on and I now have more power and more revs as well as a smoother engine.

I can't believe it, but it's true and may affect any of you if you buy Lucas, or the later ones might be fine. I Don't know, but for now I'm buying coils off PowerSpark on EBay. They seem good, they are cheap and they are black which is good in old cars. If these give trouble, I'm told Bosch VW Beetle coils are the best ones because the quality is very good and they are pressure filled with oil so can be used upside down and will still cool properly.

For the record, old cars need slow fat sparks. The original coils were 4.5 Ohms and produced about 13,500 Volts. The basic, general purpose, modern coils are 3 Ohms and produce 30,000 Volts and are the best choice. Sports coils produce 45,000 Volts and often cause rotor arm or distributor cap failure as well as not producing the right type of spark unless someone is revving his Hilman Minx to 15,000rpm.