classic car forum header
Classic cars forum & vehicle restoration.
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 
Register     Posting Photographs     Privacy     F/book OCC Facebook     OCC on Patreon

1969 Chevrolet Camaro
Goto page 1, 2  Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Classic cars forum & vehicle restoration. Forum Index -> All our old cars, vans, lorries etc
kieran12345

PostPosted: Thu Jun 26, 2014 6:51 pm    Post subject: 1969 Chevrolet Camaro Reply with quote

Looking for some much appreciated advice.

I am a farmer/trainee aerospace engineer looking to enrol on a 1969 Camaro rolling shell project car. My hand skills are good and I am prepared to spend a lot of time and patience on this project, I estimated about 2 years (doing work on weekends and holidays) as I am an 18 year old student. This would be my first project so it will be a long learning curve. I have asked an antique car dealer and his advice was, 'If you can do the work yourself then you will easily get your money back with some profit, however if you can get the engine number to the chassis number you are in for a big profit'. I am not in this for the profit, indeed it would be nice to make a profit or even to break even. This for me is to learn the way of a classic car and to drive it with passion. My calculations for this project was around £10,000. I am generally looking for a calculation to match mine (or similar), but also to see if this project is actually possible. I have access to a number of lectures at my college to give advice, and if needed, a family member for hands on help if required, is this possible?

Car includes:
Rear axle and suspension
Front suspension
Steering rack and power pump
Disc brakes with servo
Seats
Dash
Clocks
Body panels in excellent condition
Interior all intact (my bill for this was £1,000)