classic car forum header
Classic cars forum & vehicle restoration.
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 
Register     Posting Photographs     Privacy     F/book OCC Facebook     OCC on Patreon

Coolant
Goto page 1, 2  Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Classic cars forum & vehicle restoration. Forum Index -> Mechanical Restoration
Wooster

PostPosted: Wed Apr 01, 2015 7:03 pm    Post subject: Coolant Reply with quote

Hi All
I'm new to old cars and I'd value some advice on coolant. Has anyone any experience of this stuff http://www.evanscoolants.co.uk/
or is there something better? My 1939 Rover 14 has suffered overheating in the past. There was loads of corrosion in the water jacket. I've recently had the radiator re-cored and the water pump rebuild and I'm about to stick it all back together. Any advice on coolant would be appreciated.
Cheers
Rich
ukdave2002

PostPosted: Wed Apr 01, 2015 7:15 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I can't comment on the merits of Evans products, but most old crocks run perfectly on the original coolant spec Smile

Dave
Wooster

PostPosted: Wed Apr 01, 2015 7:40 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I like the idea of this stuff not making the engine rust!!
roverdriver

PostPosted: Thu Apr 02, 2015 10:12 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Before reassembling, make sure that you flush out the block and head assembly as much as you can. Lots of sediment lurks within and can add to overheating problems.

I do believe in using a rust inhibiting coolant additive, but other than that just plain water works and was original coolant specification.
Bitumen Boy

PostPosted: Thu Apr 02, 2015 10:23 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Wooster wrote:
I like the idea of this stuff not making the engine rust!!