classic car forum header
Classic cars forum & vehicle restoration.
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 
Register     Posting Photographs     Privacy     F/book OCC Facebook     OCC on Patreon

Morris 8 Series Brake Pedal Switch Location?
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Classic cars forum & vehicle restoration. Forum Index -> All our old cars, vans, lorries etc
zagatoman

PostPosted: Sun Jul 17, 2016 6:04 pm    Post subject: Morris 8 Series Brake Pedal Switch Location? Reply with quote

Hi all, sorry to ask such a stupid question. I am new to my M8 series and have discovered my brake lights are not working, I went to see if everything was fine with the switch but I am having trouble locating it. Can anyone please tell me or maybe photograph the position. I would have thought it would be connected to the pedal but cant see it.

Thanks and sorry, Paul
Rick
Site Admin

PostPosted: Sun Jul 17, 2016 6:14 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Are the brakes hydraulic? I think they are on the M8, in which case the switch may be similar to my Moggy MM's, with the switch plumbed into the pipework somewhere, rather than being actuated directly from contact with the pedal. The Moggy's is under the bonnet, near a junction in the hydraulics.

RJ
OCC & classic car merchandise (Austin, Ford ++):
https://www.redbubble.com/people/OldClassicCar/shop
bjacko

PostPosted: Mon Jul 18, 2016 6:19 am    Post subject: Morris * Brake Light Switch Reply with quote

The switch is located on the chassis cross member just rear of the master cylinder and is operated by a "Heath Robinson" wire and spring mechanism attached to the brake pedal.
bjacko

PostPosted: Mon Jul 18, 2016 6:53 am    Post subject: Morris 8 Brake Light Switch Reply with quote

[img][/img]