classic car forum header
Classic cars forum & vehicle restoration.
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 
Register     Posting Photographs     Privacy     F/book OCC Facebook     OCC on Patreon

Sunbeam Alpine SV
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Classic cars forum & vehicle restoration. Forum Index -> Your Adverts & Ebay 'finds'
Plonk

PostPosted: Sat Aug 05, 2017 10:20 pm    Post subject: Sunbeam Alpine SV Reply with quote

Hi,
It'been a while since I posted on here but I have finally realised I am never going to get behind the wheel of my Alpine again ( failing eyesight) my wife keeps telling me to sell it but I am unsure of it'value.
I was a former mechanic and completely restored the car around 10 years ago, e.g
Bare metal respray (cardinal red)
Overdrive gearbox fitted
Rebuilt engine
brakes/steering etc
new interior
Reveneered dashboard with lockable glovebox
New hood
Weber twin choke carb and manifold (still have original strombergs/pancakes etc)
It was originally a GT but I fitted a soft top and still have the original steel hardtop but it needs welding..
I only managed to get a couple of hundred miles on the clock before stating another project but then suffered some health problems and never drove it again but my son drove it a couple of years ago and it drove fine.
Unfortunately where it has been standing the fuel has 'gone off'and it was a pig to start the last time I tried (it is stored at my daughters house).
The paintwork is still very good but the rechromed bumpers are beginning to pit.
As far as I now the only remaing job was to get the speedo recalibrated (after fitting overdrive box).