classic car forum header
Classic cars forum & vehicle restoration.
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 
Register     Posting Photographs     Privacy     F/book OCC Facebook     OCC on Patreon

After 15 Years of Searching...
Goto page 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10  Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Classic cars forum & vehicle restoration. Forum Index -> All our old cars, vans, lorries etc
peter scott

PostPosted: Wed Oct 22, 2008 11:14 am    Post subject: After 15 Years of Searching... Reply with quote

At Beaulieu this year I had a nice conversation that led to me buying an engine that I collected on Sunday. Although it's a bit of a curate's egg I'm absolutely delighted to have it. Why? Because it's fitted with steel con rods that I've been seeking for 15 years!

The dural rods that I've been using up 'til now have never let me down but old durals have a history of unpredictable failure resulting in major crankcase damage. They also expand more when hot so that oil pressure drops off under stress and the enlarged clearances increase hammering of the bearings.

So why a curate's egg? Whilst the gentleman that I bought it from had had it in store for many years it was a previous owner to him who had determined its condition. I bought it blind simply for the rods but the overall package is good enough to fit in the car after a bit of fettling. Very Happy

Plus points:

Excellent steel rods Very Happy
Re-bored with new pistons Very Happy
Crank re-ground with new mains and big-ends Very Happy

Silly faults and mods:

Someone has cut the beak off the crankshaft Evil or Very Mad
It should protrude well beyond the dog nut. Compare with uncut crank.