classic car forum header
Classic cars forum & vehicle restoration.
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 
Register     Posting Photographs     Privacy     F/book OCC Facebook     OCC on Patreon

Door cards
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Classic cars forum & vehicle restoration. Forum Index -> General Restoration Advice
1935Hillman

PostPosted: Mon Feb 29, 2016 9:38 pm    Post subject: Door cards Reply with quote

I am just beginning to think about creating the door cards for my project and have a question. I am aware of the methods for fixing said cards to a metal door frame but what about a wooden framed door? I don't want to see screw heads if I can help it. Presumably I will need to create sockets in the door frame to accept spring clips of some description ? Detailed help in particular would be very gratefully received. Thank you
goneps

PostPosted: Mon Feb 29, 2016 11:03 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

The standard method on pre-war cars was to use hidem binding, which as the name suggests conceals the fasteners, be they tacks, staples, or small wood screws. Google it for pictures and videos.

Richard
Penman

PostPosted: Mon Feb 29, 2016 11:55 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi
There is a screw alternative which doesn't leave screw heads visible.
Brass mirror screws.
http://tinyurl.com/hkzasks

or these upholstery dome tacks

http://tinyurl.com/h3wrxn7

Any 2 from:-
Straight 6
V8 V10
MikeEdwards

PostPosted: Tue Mar 01, 2016 11:39 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Abandoning any kind of originality for a moment, would a strip of Velcro-like stuff around the edge of the door card, and perhaps in some central areas if appropriate, be sufficient?
peter scott

PostPosted: Tue Mar 01, 2016 6:31 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Is there another car that retains its original cards that you could copy?