classic car forum header
Classic cars forum & vehicle restoration.
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 
Register     Posting Photographs     Privacy     F/book OCC Facebook     OCC on Patreon

Advice on welding and filling
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Classic cars forum & vehicle restoration. Forum Index -> General Restoration Advice
Big Supes

PostPosted: Sun Apr 16, 2017 11:10 am    Post subject: Advice on welding and filling Reply with quote

Hi guys, newbie here!

I am currently restoring my p&j - a 1988 Nissan Fairlady Z and would like some advice on welding and what fillers to use in preparation for paint.

So far I have taken off the surface rust from the rear of the car and POR-15'd over the top.

[img]http://i.imgur.com/bP73tHH.jpg [/img]

You can see the worse areas pictures below.

(inside of nearside quarter panel)

In the top picture I intend to put a small plate behind the holes and fill them up with mig. I recall reading somewhere that you should avoid using standard filler as it attracts moisture? I was wondering what you guys use instead?

Cheers!
MikeEdwards

PostPosted: Sun Apr 16, 2017 6:57 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

For that top one, I'd open that hole up to a regular shape and weld a plate in, with a butt weld if you possibly can. Then you can grind the weld down flat and you'll only need a very small skim of filler.

The trouble with welding a plate behind is that you've then got two metal surfaces next to each other, virtually impossible to rustproof, asking for trouble really.

On my project I've used epoxy primer directly over the welds (after grinding down) and then gone for either glassfibre filler (aka bridging filler) which generally is waterproof, and then standard filler on top if required as it's easier to get a decent top surface on.