classic car forum header
Classic cars forum & vehicle restoration.
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 
Register     Posting Photographs     Privacy     F/book OCC Facebook     OCC on Patreon

Mounting and testing a 1940s XPAG engine
Goto page 1, 2  Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Classic cars forum & vehicle restoration. Forum Index -> General Restoration Advice
Kuleke

PostPosted: Thu Oct 18, 2012 5:14 pm    Post subject: Mounting and testing a 1940s XPAG engine Reply with quote

Hello,

I'm a final year University student and my project is on adapting a classic MG sports car to work with modern fuels. We have been supplied with an XPAG engine and the current task is mounting it on one of the test rigs available. After mounting, we will be thinking of ways to start it. But more importantly, due to health and safety, we will need to be able to start it remotely i.e. from a control room outside where the test rigs are. Any general pointers would be appreciated. I will post more questions and information as the project develops over the coming months.

Thank you very much.
roverdriver

PostPosted: Fri Oct 19, 2012 9:05 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

The engine will run on 'modern' fuels without any problem anyway, however if you must persist, remote stating is pretty obvious.
I would have thought that a final year student would realise that 'remote' starting is what happens when the engine is in the car. A simple extension of wiring from the starter solenoid to your remote location is all that you would need.

You might feel that some linkages to throttle and choke (if not automatic) could be considered as well.
Rick
Site Admin

PostPosted: Fri Oct 19, 2012 9:31 am    Post subject: Reply with quote