classic car forum header
Classic cars forum & vehicle restoration.
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 
Register     Posting Photographs     Privacy     F/book OCC Facebook     OCC on Patreon

Top tips for buying a starter classic
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Classic cars forum & vehicle restoration. Forum Index -> Classic & Vintage Cars, Lorries, Vans, Motorcycles etc - General Chat
admin

PostPosted: Tue Nov 14, 2006 9:14 pm    Post subject: Top tips for buying a starter classic Reply with quote

Ok, there are a few people around here who have been tinkering with old motors for quite some time (I'm just an amateur at 21 years with old cars), so how bout a thread with some top tips on what to look for when buying a first, daily user, classic? I get asked this quite a lot via email. Here are a few things that spring to mind:

1. Draw up a shortlist of the cars you like, of the type that best suits you - ie saloons, sports, commercials, estate cars etc.
2. Check the insurance, get a few quotes, and identify the vehicles in your shortlist that you can afford to insure.
3. Do research - check on the parts availability for a car, are there good owners clubs around who can help with advice on running it?
4. Read read read road tests, buyers guides in classic car mags, and get to know the common problem areas, and maybe the best models and years to look for.
5. Check out magazines, local papers, and the internet for examples to look at
6. If possible, get someone who knows about these cars to come along and inspect it with you. If you can't do this, consider having a professional inspection (the AA do this for example).
7. Don't rush into buying something (I can't talk really!), and Do Drive It before committing to buy - driving old cars is totally different to something made yesterday, you may find that you hate it!!