classic car forum header
Classic cars forum & vehicle restoration.
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 
Register     Posting Photographs     Privacy     F/book OCC Facebook     OCC on Patreon

Brush painting on a fibre-glass bodied car
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Classic cars forum & vehicle restoration. Forum Index -> Bodywork & Paint Restoration
brianjt

PostPosted: Tue May 27, 2014 11:32 am    Post subject: Brush painting on a fibre-glass bodied car Reply with quote

Hi, Apologies if this question has been asked before but, as a newbie, I am unaware of previous posts.
I have a 1959 kit car with a self-coloured glass fibre (GRP) body that needs re-painting. Spraying would not be cost-effective and I have been 'directed' towards using Tekaloid but with a primer (and, some say, an undercoat).
What I am in need of is advice/guidance from someone who has actually used this product with GRP - I don't want to follow the usual path of try it on a test area, etc. because I will have spent money and time wastefully if it doesn't work. As an example of the unhelpful comments that I have received so far, a supplier of Tekaloid said that I needed to use a primer but no supplier's name or details of a primer were given even though I asked for more details.
Hopefully my plea will fall on sympathetic ears and I look forward to a helpful reply.
Thank you.
ajlelectronics

PostPosted: Tue May 27, 2014 10:34 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote